Top 5 most ridiculous serving sizes:

1.

Serving size of everyones favorite college food staple.....1/2 a block.  Are you kidding?  Have you ever broken a block in half and saved part for later?  Does this mean you better have a friend to share your Ramen block with?  I know a serving size doesnt mean you have to stick to it, and that you just have to double the nutritional facts, but come on...how many times have you had 2 packages at once?  Thats 4 serving sizes!

Serving size of everyone's favorite college food staple.....1/2 a block. Are you kidding? Have you ever broken a block in half and saved part for later? Does this mean you better have a friend to share your Ramen block with? I know a serving size doesnt mean you have to stick to it, and that you just have to double the nutritional facts, but come on...how many times have you had 2 packages at once? Thats 4 serving sizes!

2.

A Pop-Tart serving size is 1!  No, not 1 silver foiled package.  1 pastry.  I'm sure that flimsy foil will serve as a good food wrap, to keep the 2nd pastry nice and fresh for the next morning.

A Pop-Tart serving size is 1! No, not 1 silver foiled package. 1 pastry. I'm sure that flimsy foil will serve as a good food wrap, to keep the 2nd pastry nice and fresh for the next morning.

3.

Bread.  Now this may depend on what brand, type, or the size of your bread.  Right now, I have a pretty good size Italian loaf, and the serving size..........1.  1 slice of bread is a serving size.  So we can all do the math of how many serving sizes a sandwich consists of.

Bread. Now this may depend on what brand, type, or the size of your bread. Right now, I have a pretty good size Italian loaf, and the serving size..........1. 1 slice of bread is a serving size. So we can all do the math of how many serving sizes a sandwich consists of.

4.

Yes, this is a picture of Fusilli Jerry.  But in all seriousness, a serving size of pasta is 2oz.  Well, what the hell is 2oz?  Think about it this way...a box of pasta is 1LB or 16oz.  So a serving size is 1/8 of a box of pasta.  Um, depending on if I'm having a big salad (Yes!  2 Seinfeld references in 1 item)  or a ton of bread, I have probably never had less than a 1/3 of a box of pasta for myself, and sometimes up to 1/2.  2 ounces, shmoo ounces.

Yes, this is a picture of Fusilli Jerry. But in all seriousness, a serving size of pasta is 2 oz. Well, how much is 2 oz? Think about it this way...a box of pasta is 1LB or 16oz. So a serving size is 1/8 of a box of pasta. Um, depending on if I'm having a big salad (Yes! 2 Seinfeld references in 1 item) or literally a ton of bread, I have probably never had less than a 1/3 of a box of pasta for myself, and sometimes up to 1/2. 2 ounces, shmoo ounces.

5.

My favorite packaged cookie (not counting pepperidge farm Mint Milanos) has a serving size of...3 cookies.  I'm pretty sure I can speak for most of you, when I say I can put down a glass of milk, inhale, and crush about 8 of these things before I take a second breath.  Actually, I dunk mine in water rather than milk, but thats an argument for another day.

My favorite packaged cookie (not counting pepperidge farm Mint Milanos) has a serving size of...3 cookies. I'm pretty sure I can speak for most of you, when I say I can put down a glass of milk, inhale, and crush about 8 of these things before I take a second breath. Actually, I dunk mine in water rather than milk, but thats an argument for another day.

-Steve L.

~ by sloonis on March 26, 2009.

One Response to “Top 5 most ridiculous serving sizes:”

  1. Good post. I stopped eating those “pot pies” when I realized 600 calories and abt 1200 mg of sodium was for HALF a pie. Who the hell eats only half a pot pie??????

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

